BCM 114 – Prototyping “Unfinished Business”

How my DA has come along so far:

When I began my DA project, my intent was to make musical beats and upload them to free music streaming platforms Soundcloud and Bandcamp, with the hope they’d be listened to and possibly downloaded by other music makers interested in using the types of sounds I’m making. Being that the type of music I was making was directed towards a niche community looking for electronic music beats, so far, I am happy in that at least a few users have streamed my sounds.

Changes undertaken since the pitch:

As mentioned in the video below, the first few changes really revolved around the name, but moving on from that, when I uploaded my first beats, I could see what my listeners were listening to as well as other statistics, inclusive of when the best day/time to upload these beats were. Because of this, I decided to move my platform to be solely focused on Soundcloud, since I found through user statistics when I uploaded my first few tracks to both SoundCloud and Bandcamp, this is where I could actually start to build an established community of followers. From there, I could begin to branch out to platforms like Bandcamp again, and even YouTube or Spotify. I also said in my pitch that I’d be aiming for around 3+ uploads a week, but doing this project myself and fitting it around work has really only enabled me to average 1-2 uploads a week since the project started, but I feel that by doing this, I’m at least still encouraging a consistent flow of content for enough listeners to find.

Bandcamp gave me basically no traction
Soundclouds early results

Moving forward:

As I move into the final phase of this DA, my main goal is to have a proper design and layout on my Soundcloud page established, which will allow the project to look official and attract more people to spend time on my page and share its content. I will still continue to make beats at the same time, but now that I have prototyped my product, I am confident that this is the right way to carry on, as with few listens, the only way is upward!

checkout my soundcloud
Let me know your thoughts!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started